Home / Works / Sonata para violín y piano

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Sonata para violín y piano

Violín y Piano


Reg.: BC0001

26,00 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Review: CASALS ISTOMIN, Marta
  • Ensemble: Duos: With piano.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Chamber.
  • Language of the comment: Català/English/Castellano
  • Product format: Partitura + particellas
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Pau Casals
  • No. of pages: 92+20
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • ISBN: 978-84-8020-895-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-0829-1
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

I Allegro

The movement does not have a name, simply a tempo annotation, so Allegro, provides both its description and name. The movement has the dimensions of a first movement (lasting approximately 17 minutes); it unfolds loosely following the forma of a sonata and the violin part is composed with a virtuoso texture. Some short chords on the piano give way to the air on the violin that presents the movement's main theme, which will reappear in other parts of the work. It is a descriptive, cantabile theme, in line with the taste of the nineteenth century aesthetic that appears, for example, in some of Toldrà’s pieces for violin. The theme appears and evolves, guided by its own inspiration. It does not have cyclical pretensions except at the end of the theme, when it recurs to da capo to repeat the whole section. The second section continues the dialogue between the soloist and piano in similar narrative conditions, where lyrical episodes are followed by other more virtuoso episodes, both due to the tessitura in which it takes place and the speed of some passages. At the end, the vigour of the movement declines and is set out slowly to lift a final flight and take on a cadential tone with a lively, final ascent and descent.

II Scherzo

The second movement has a shorter duration (a Presto that lasts approximately 8 minutes) and an informal nature, as the name of the movement suggests. It is merely a game between the two instruments, and this time it is more engaged given the liveliness that the sound discourse develops in, alternating between instruments with a spree of vitality and fast notes. Once the main episode has been performed, it goes to da capo to finally approach a concluding coda in agitato that nicely summarises the atmosphere of the movement. As previously mentioned, in a classic, academic structure, this would have been the third movement and it would have the role of preparing a final, livelier movement. But this is not the case, as it is followed by a contemplative episode. The liveliness and chromaticism in this movement, with tonal changes that are integrated in the chromaticism, refer to the French chamber aesthetic of the era.

III Lento

The third movement (no title and with an Lento tempo annotation that provides the episode’s name) lasts for 6 minutes. It is a cantabile movement with a more contemplative, almost lamenting atmosphere; the violin starts a lyrical theme with a melody that has an undeniable Catalan air, accompanied discreetly by the piano; the theme is repeated and changes to give way to the reappearance of the main theme from the first movement, evoked in a few short bars that firstly imitate it and then modify it. This return livens up the movement; it has some sprightly moments that are followed by calm, drawing the movement to the end with a slow and yearning evocation of the theme from the first movement, now the leitmotif of the piece.

Xosé Aviñoa
Music historian, responsible for cataloguing and writing the comments for this edition

1. Pau Casals, apunt biogràfic
Pau Casals, biographical notes
Pau Casals, apunte biográfico

2. Criteri de l’edició
Criteria for the publication
Criterio de la edición

3. Criteri de la documentació i catalogació
Documentation and cataloguing criteria
Criterio de la documentación y catalogación

4. Introducció a l’obra
Introduction to the work
Introducción a la obra

5. Partitures / Scores / Partituras 
Sonata per a violí i piano
Sonata for violin and piano
Sonata para violín y piano

6. Catàleg / Catalog / Catálogo

Kit Digital