Home / Works / Divertimento I

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Divertimento I

2 Violines o Violín y Flauta


Reg.: B.3102

18,90 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Ensemble: Duos: ; Mixt.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Chamber.
  • Product format: Partitura + particellas
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XX
  • No. of pages: 28+36
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 10'00"
  • ISBN: 978-84-8020-198-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-2021-7
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

Divertimento I and Divertimento II, for two violins were composed in 1996.

These two sister compositions have the additional attraction of being unedited works which are representative of the composer’s most recent style. This etymological description, which defines a personality rather than an established musical style, takes the form of a succession of contrasting dynamic movements. One of the most outstanding features is the way in which the two instruments break away from their usual range of sounds to create the ideal conditions for suggesting their latent extent of sound possibilities in compositions that could be extended perfectly well into a string quartet.

The interplay between the two instruments opens up a whole range of possibilities: short motives in an imitative style often braking out into a repetition of brief themes with a lot of personality, sequences of transformations, repetitive rhythms, etc. All theses show the virtuosity of the players on their own and together and because of their characteristics, they are written in a very clear tonal language, a times, modal, oriental, or even pentatonic. The progression of the movements is governed by a desire for variety: between the fast opening and closing movements there is a sequence of relaxed «andante» –some of which are in an easy two-part canon style- in «scherzzi» and these are the lightest, most airy fragments of the two Divertimenti.

Lluís Millet

Kit Digital