Home / Works / Zéffiro

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)


Materiales de banda en alquiler

Piano y Banda sinfónica


Reg.: B.3668o

Rental request

  • Ensemble: Symphonic band: .
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Symphonic.
  • Product format: Partitura + particellas
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XXI
  • No. of pages: 120
  • Measure: 29,70 x 21,00 cm
  • Lenght: 23'
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-0916-8
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: Yes

Solo Piano
3[1.2.pic] 2 3[1.2.bcl] 2 — 4 3 3 1 — tmp+1 — str[only db]
perc: tri, sd, glock, bd, cym, sus cym

Zéffiro (Piano, Wind Instruments, Contrabasso and Percussion) It was commissioned by Banda Municipal de Barcelona (Barcelona’s municipal band) and performed for the first time on January 30th 2011 at L’Auditori de Barcelona (auditorium of Barcelona).

This concert (as its title suggests, is like the light wind similar to the breeze that announces the spring)  is divided into three movements:

The first, bearing the name of «Preludi» (Prelude), is slow and mysterious, with two alternating subject matters flowing gently. It is only towards the end that a rapid cadence of the piano leads to an orchestral tutti which will gradually fade within the general atmosphere.

The second movement is a «Scherzo-Cadenza», always in a bar of 6/8, based on triplets and twangs but also tied at the most expressive moments. The piano and the wind and percussion instruments embark in a contrapuntal dialogue in which a burlesque character alternates with forceful moments. The movement ends subtly, with a long scale flowing from a low to a high pitch.

A cadence of the piano serves as a liaison with the third movement, an «Allegro molto», the longest and most complex of the whole concert. This movement is clearly virtuosic and it consists of three main subject matters which alternate and blend. The atmosphere is lively and unmistakably burlesque, although there are three thoughtful moments in which it becomes mysterious.

The coda is fast, bright and clearly conclusive.

Jordi Cervelló

Preludi (5' 20") Scherzo - Cadenza (5' 30") Allegro molto (8' 30")

Kit Digital