Home / Works / Sardana simfònica

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Sardana simfònica



Reg.: B.3959

16,50 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Review: BESSES, Antoni
  • Ensemble: Solo.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Solos.
    Folk music / traditional: Sardanas.
  • Language of the comment: Spanish, Catalan, English
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Intermediate-advanced
  • Period: 1st half S. XX
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XXI
  • No. of pages: 16
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 5'28''
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-3999-8
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

Blancafort composed his Sardana simfònica [Symphonic Sardana] in 1949. According to the manuscript the original title was Nova Empuriana, later changed to Sardana sinfónica. It is a sumptuous and original work. The orchestral versión begins with the traditional piccolo trill followed by various melodies, rhythms and textures all of which are which are highly imaginative. Of the two Blancafort sardanas this one does not have a dance-like character. Rather, it appears that his intention was to create a concert sardana.

Blancafort described this work as «a free sardana for symphonic orchestra that successively evokes the following scenes: Curts [short steps]: freshness of the landscape at daybreak; Llargs [long steps]: a sentimental song (from the sea a young sailor sees an Ampurdan maiden); tramuntana: wild sea and disembarking». It is said that at the point that the work was still known by its original title Blancafort wanted to enter it in the Concurso Musical Premios Enric Morera in March, 1949. In the end the competition was cancelled, leading the composer to write in the manuscript: «the Civil Governor cancelled the contest, alleging that it was Catalan nationalist competition and ran the risk of leading to a separatist war!!! That was too much!!». 

In the end the work was premiered in Barcelona by the Municipal Orchestra directed by Ricard Lamote de Grignon in a free concert on March 5, 1916. This edition is the version for piano written by the composer and adapted and revised by pianist Antoni Besses.

Jordi Flaquer

- Prefaci / Preface / Prefacio 
- Sardana simfònica
- Manuel Blancafort i de Rosselló

Kit Digital