Home / Works / Preludio

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)




Reg.: B.4069

17,25 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Review: GUILLÉN, Manuel
  • Ensemble: Solo.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Solos.
  • Language of the comment: Català/English/Castellano
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 1st half S. XX
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • No. of pages: 12
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 2'40"
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-4175-5
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

Published here for the first time, Preludio is the only work by Sarasate composed for solo violin. All of his other works for violin have either piano or orchestral accompaniment. Preludio also differs from many of his other works which tend to have folkloric roots. The theme of Preludio reveals a formal freedom which has a somewhat modern quality.

The work beings with a passage, without bar lines, marked molta fantasia cadencioso which is similar to a recitative. (It is interesting to note that throughout the work there are only five bar lines.) The opening passage is followed by the main section which uses double strings and is marked Lento – Cantando. This section has arpeggios and elaborate patterns using both the highest and lowest registers of the violin and concludes with a trill in the high register.

Preludio is a musical sketch which is very attractive although different from Sarasate’s most known works.

Both its brief duration and technical difficulties make Preludio useful for conservatory students at the professional or higher levels.

  • Preface

  • Preludio - Revised Edition

  • Facsimile

  • Preludio - Urtex Edition

  • Biography Manuel Guillén

Kit Digital