Home / Works / Música i compromís Partitura Guit y Quinteto

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Música i compromís Partitura Guit y Quinteto

Homenatge a Pau Casals

Guitarra y Quinteto de cuerda


Reg.: B.3650

29,40 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Chamber.
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XXI
  • No. of pages: 76
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 25'00''
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-0910-6
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No


This work was written in homage to Pau Casals, the internationally recognized cellist, committed to defending freedom and world peace, and in addition, one of the most important individuals from Catalunya. It was composed in honor of the 40th anniversary of Casals being awarded the United Nations Peace Medal and the premiere of his Hymn for the United Nations as well as of the 50th anniversary of his historic concert at the White House. 

Continuing with my goal of creating chamber music repertoire for the guitar, in this work I have used a complex formal structure which is similar to many great works of the chamber music repertoire rather than follow the traditional form of most chamber music works which incorporate the guitar. This composition is conceived in five movements. In each movement I wanted to symbolize certain aspects of the life, beliefs and the personality of Pau Casals as shown through his commitment to music, peace and his native Catalunya. The titles of the movements are: Tragedy, Exile, Nostalgia, Loyalty and Peace. 

In the first movement, Tragedy, I attempt to describe the emotional impact of the Spanish Civil War and the dramatic break up of society following the conflict and its effect on a musician with a strong social consciousness such as Pau Casals. In the second movement, Exile, I address the uncertainty for the future which is inherent in exile. The third movement, Nostalgia, describes the melancholy which afflicts anyone in exile due to the complete separation from their roots. In the fourth movement, Loyalty, I wanted to represent the spirit of responsibility which Pau Casals himself embodied with himself. And, finally in the fifth movement, Peace, I attempt to convey Casals’ message of hope for the future—a message which remained vital for him in spite of the terrible historical event which he experienced in his lifetime. In spite of this Casals continued to remain vital and left to the world his personal and musical legacy.

In contrast with previous chamber music using the guitar, here the guitar is not treated as a solo instrument but rather as a member of the ensemble and shares the musical content with the other instruments. The work is highly varied and contains moments of great simplicity which alternate with others that require brilliance and virtuosity.

Jaume Torrent

I. Tragèdia (Allegreto ben misurato) II. Exili (Andantino ostinato) III. Enyor (Andantino) IV. Lleialtat (Lento assai. Allegro) V. Pau (Calmo ma intenso. Andante tranquillo)

Kit Digital