Home / Works / Invocacions

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)


Flauta y Piano

VELA, Ester

Reg.: B.4050

17,25 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Ensemble: Duos: With piano.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Chamber.
    Musical education: Instrumental study repertoire.
  • Language of the comment: Català/English/Castellano
  • Product format: Partitura + particellas
  • Difficulty level: Intermediate
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Crescendo XXI
  • No. of pages: 28+8
  • Measure: 314,00 x 218,00 cm
  • Lenght: 7'20"
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-4116-8
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

I composed this work in response to a request from Dolors Serra and Eduard Sánchez who both teach the flute at the Barcelona Municipal Conservatory of Music. It is dedicated to them. 

They asked me for a work to enable students in their fourth year of professional training to practise contemporary musical techniques. Like a garment made to measure, it was to contain a series of effects they wanted their students to work on: improvisation, flutter-tonguing, harmonics, multiphonics, staccato, 'dove sounds', tremolo, glissando, and so on. The assignment proved very interesting because of the cooperation involved: the teachers made suggestions and adapted mine to improve the players' performance.

I composed a work in three movements containing references to the Cantiga a Santa María No. 100 by Alfonso X 'the Wise', King of Castile.

  • The first, strongly rhythmic movement is a Folia ('Folly'). It is a syncopated, energetic piece. 
  • The second movement is akin to an Elegy, very lyrical and meditative. It begins with a musical quotation, which the flautist plays and sings at the same time. 
  • It moves directly, without a pause, into the third movement, which contains a perpetual accelerando all the way to the end, when the Folia takes centre stage once more.

Part of the piece was first performed on 11 March 2019 at a concert by flute students of Dolors Serra in the Red Room at the Barcelona Municipal Conservatory of Music. Natasha Catasús was the flautist while the pianist was piano teacher and accompanist Josep M. Almirón. The complete work was premiered on Thursday 4 April 2019 at a concert in the Conservatory's Eduard Toldrà Auditorium with Eduard Sánchez playing the flute and the composer at the piano.

Ester Vela

Prefaci / Preface / Prefacio
Unitat didàctica
Teacher’s notes
Unidad didáctica
- I
- II
Biografia / Biography / Biografía

Kit Digital