Home / Works / Homenatge a Manuel de Falla; Tema i Variacions a la memòria de Béla Bartók

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Homenatge a Manuel de Falla; Tema i Variacions a la memòria de Béla Bartók


VALLS, Manuel

Reg.: B.3484

9,20 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Ensemble: Solo.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Solos.
  • Language of the comment: Català/Castellano
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Intermediate
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XXI
  • No. of pages: 16
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 10'
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-0715-7
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

Valls Gorina wrote Homenaje a Manuel de Falla in 1947, precisely the year in which he contributed to the founding of the Círculo Manuel de Falla, which included Catalan composers as heterogeneous as Josep Cercós, Mestres-Quadreny and Joan Comellas. In fact, this group sought to revitalise the music of our country, and Falla's name was taken as a reference rather than as an aesthetic model. Thus, in this suite, Valls Gorina uses his own language, sober and to a certain extent neoclassical, to pay homage to the master from Cadiz. In any case, we find more affinities with the Falla of the Retablo de Maese Pedro than with that of the Fantasía bética.

A year earlier, in 1946, Valls Gorina had written Tema y variaciones a la memoria de Bela Bartók, a work with which he reached the maximum development of his most contrapuntal stage, close to the language of Bach's suites and with a very personal harmony. It has little to do, then, with the style of the Hungarian composer, except perhaps for the clarity and angularity of his style, a similarity which, in any case, is fortuitous. This piece, concise and brief, reveals the more unknown Valls, perhaps the more serious one, still far from the more popular melodies that he cultivated so successfully.

Homenatge a Manuel de Falla (6')
Preludi Canon Gaita Bressol Tema i variacions a la memòria de Béla Bartók (10')

Kit Digital