Home / Works / Concert per a piano i orquestra (red.) (Malats)

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Concert per a piano i orquestra (red.) (Malats)

2 Pianos

MALATS, Joaquim

Reg.: B.3716

18,70 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Arrangement: MESTRE, Melani
  • Ensemble: Duos: .
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Arrangements and Transcripts; Symphonic.
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 1st half S. XX
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Joaquim Malats
  • No. of pages: 64
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 18' 20"
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-1042-3
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

The Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, which is published here for the first time, is the culminating work by Malats. The Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, in A minor, is one of the few Catalan works in this genre. Other similar works are the Concerto by Granados, discovered in 2009, and those by Albéniz (Concierto Fantástico, Op.78 and the Rapsodia Española, Op.70, of which the original version was recently found). Apart from these four concertos for piano and orchestra, in our country it is difficult to find an echo of the popularity of this genre that was one of the most typical of 19th Century European music, perhaps even more so that than other symphonic works.

Malats’ Concerto is written in one movement, which was certainly the composer’s intention. He was probably inspired by similar works that he knew or had performed such as Fantasía África (African Fantasy) by Camille Saint-Saëns, Allegro de Concierto (Concert Allegro) by Felix Blumenfeld or the third Concerto for Piano and Orchestra by Tchaikovsky.

In order to make the work playable I have made an orchestration following the historical criteria of the era, taking special care to incorporate the indications left by the composer in the original manuscript. All of these indications are perfectly valid, coherent and easy to follow. I began by reconstructing the original score for two pianos, with the second piano being a reduction of the orchestra, in order to facilitate study and knowledge of the work. Once this was completed I made an orchestration, as Malats would have wished, respecting all the essential qualities of the original. I have attempted to recreate and preserve to the highest degree the original ideas of the composer, without adulterating in any way its essence.  

Melani Mestre


Kit Digital